My Transgender Manifesto

Emma Holiday
2 min readMar 31, 2024

Happy Transgender Day of Visibility

https://unsplash.com/@lenabalk

-I will no longer be ashamed of being transgender.

-I will no longer feel any guilt nor will I let anyone make me feel guilty. This is not a choice for me. They can choose to leave me but I can’t. It is who and what I am. Everyone else will need to accept it.

-I will change whatever I need to feel like me. It is not vanity, I need to be able to finally see me.

-I will stop being mean to myself. I am a good person and I deserve to be treated better by me.

-I will like myself. I have so many good qualities. I need to see them and value them.

-I will do all I can to help everyone in my life understand. Society has kept them as blind as it has kept me about the truth of what being transgender is.

-I will laugh. Transition can be fun if I am willing to laugh at myself and see the humor that transitioning is bringing to my life.

-I will not internalize the haters or the ignorant.

-I will fight for acceptance. I am worthy and I bring worth to the world.

-I will not be bullied.

-I will expect to be treated equally and with respect. This is not negotiable.

-I will accept my imperfections.

-I will be happy. I waited a lifetime to get here.

-I will have joy and will share it with anyone who will let me.

Dedicated to all my transgender, LGBTQ, and cisgender friends who helped me get here. I found out I am never alone.

Emma Holiday

Copyrighted © 2023 Halliday & Co., Inc. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Emma Holiday

After decades of denial I finally answered the question “What’s wrong with me?” The answer is “Nothing”. I am transgender and I am OK.